CCTV.com  中文 | English | Español | Français
Olympics  中文 | Español | Français
首页 > 奥林匹克频道 >  Content

Tan Zhe Temple

Updated:2008-06-06 09:59 | Source:

  Tan Zhe Temple is situated in Tan Zhe Hill of

  Beijing's Western Hills. Surrounded by nine peaks

  and secluded in the depth of forests, the temple

  boasts magnificent buildings and screen environment.

  An ancient saying The history of Tan Zhe Temple is

  earlier than that of Beijing testifies to the long

  history of the temple.

  Tan Zhe Temple was built 1700 years ago in the Jin

  Dynasty. Its original name was Jia Fu Temple,

  meaning the temple of Auspicious Fortune. Throughout

  the Jin, Yuan, Ming and the successive dynasties,

  the Temple underwent renovations and changes of

  name. On the 31st year of the Emperor Kangxi’s

  reign in the Qing Dynasty (1692), it was renamed Xiu

  Yun Temple, which remained until today. As there are

  a Long Tan (or deep pool) at the back of the temple

  and Mulberries, the temple is usually called Tan Zhe

  Temple (Tan means deep pool and Zhe means the

  trees).

  The building of Tan Zhe Temple consists of three

  parts. Along the middle road, which is also the

  central axis of the building, there are the Paifang

  (memorial archway), stone bridge, entrance door,

  Tian Wang Hall (the hall of kings in heaven), Da

  Xiong Hall, and Pi Lu Pavilion. Among them Da Xiong

  Hall has grand eaves and roof carved with huge

  colored glazed peak of a hawk. Along the eastern

  road is the abbot's courtyard, Yan Qing Pavilion, Yi

  Xuan Pavilion, Xing Gong Courtyard (the imperial

  place for short stays of an emperor away from the

  imperial palace) and Sheli Pagoda (the pagoda

  enriched with relic of a Buddha). In this area there

  lies Liu Bei Pavilion that boasts its unique

  architectural style in the Chinese history. The

  white marble base of the pavilion is carved with a

  zigzag gutter, which looks like dragon’s head from

  the south and tiger’s head from the north.

  The western road is scattered with several halls and

  courtyards. At the northern end of the road is

  Guanyin Hall. Legend has it that Princess Miao Yan,

  daughter of Yuanshizu Hu Bilie (the first emperor of

  the Yuan Dynasty) spent her days worshipping Buddha

  in the hall. She was so devoted that day after day

  she left her footprints deep on the floor of the

  hall. Her sincerity is then widely praised by the

  following generations.

  In Long Wang Hall (or the Dragon King Hall) there is

  a stonefish worshiped by numerous devout men and

  women.

  In the temple there still exist many ancient rare

  trees such as gingkoes, the most famous of which is

  the divine emperor tree, mulberries, sal trees,

  cypress of a thousand years old as well as purple

  yulan magnolia and other flowers. Besides the temple

  proper other historic interests include Anle hall,

  courtyard with turrets, Guanyin Caves, Ming Wang

  Hall, Tiger Ting Jing Cave (the cave where a tiger

  listens to Buddhist scripture).

  Tan Zhe Temple is one of the national key cultural

  relics. In 1997, it was restored as a place of

  religious activities, which reflects the policy of

  Ethnic Minorities and Religions set by the CPC (the

  Chinese Communist Party of China). It is a popular

  scenic spot and a proper place for appreciating the

  Buddhist culture.

  (Source:

  http://www.ebeijing.gov.cn/Tour/ScenicSpots/)

Editor : Zhu Jia

Opening ceremony of Beijing Olympics